Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society

Monthly archives for October, 2015

Photo Request for Midwest Fish and Wildlife Meeting

North Central Division, During the Tuesday evening Poster Session and Tradeshow Social at the Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan we will be running a slideshow of photos showcasing fish and wildlife management in the Midwest. Please send me a few good photos from your area. While the standard “big fish/game” photos are welcome and expected, please also send photos of other vertebrates/invertebrates/plants/fungi as well as habitat restorations, methods, and anything else you want to brag about J. Thanks in advance for your help putting this together! Patrick Hanchin Tribal Coordination Unit Manager Charlevoix Fisheries Station | Michigan DNR 96 Grant Street | Charlevoix, MI 49720 hanchinp@michigan.gov […]

READ MORE

Slow Food Canada Newsletter

This newsletter was shared with CARS, it is about good, clean, and fair food initiatives across Canada. Enjoy!  

READ MORE

OFAH Research Grant Application Process Underway

The Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters (OFAH) research grant application process is underway for 2016.  Students wishing to apply for an OFAH research grant this year will be able to submit electronically.  The OFAH and partners are offering four different grants worth $4,000 each to university students researching fish and wildlife topics that are helping to improve resource management.  The OFAH uses a science-based approach to our advocacy in fish and wildlife management.   Who can apply? Any graduate or post-graduate student currently researching a fish and wildlife topic, and whose findings would benefit Ontario’s fish and/or wildlife management.   What is being offered? There are four separate research […]

READ MORE

CCFFR – Jan 7–9, St. John’s, NFLD

  Conference webpage Major themes for the conference include: Environmental and anthropogenic impacts on aquatic ecosystems (Keith Clarke, keith.clarke@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Evolutionary and ecological genetics of aquatic species (Daniel Heath, dheath@uwindsor.ca and Ian Bradbury, ian.bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Ecosystem-based management (Mariano Koen-Alonso, mariano.koen-alonso@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Spatial ecology and conservation of aquatic ecosystems (Jon Carr, jcarr@asf.ca) Understanding recruitment dynamics of fishes and their consequences to stock productivity (Dominique Robert, dominique.robert@mi.mun.ca and Pierre Pepin, pierre.pepin@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Aquaculture and its impacts on aquatic ecosystems (Dounia Hamoutene, dounia.hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Habitat science and restoration of aquatic ecosystems (Robert Gregory, robert.gregory@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Ocean regime change and its impact on aquatic species (Sherrylynn Rowe, sherrylynn.rowe@mi.mun.ca) Evolutionary ecology of reproduction (Trevor Pitcher, tpitcher@uwindsor.ca and Craig Purchase, cfpurchase@mun.ca) Aquatic invasive species (Cynthia McKenzie, cynthia.mckenzie@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Species at risk (Roanne Collins, roanne.collins@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Science communication: opportunities and pitfalls (Steven Cooke, stevencooke@cunet.carleton.ca) General Contribution (Martha Robertson, martha.robertson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Call for abstract here. Due […]

READ MORE

Fall Evening Social “Women In Biology”

The American Fisheries Society Ontario Chapter Invites you to a Fall Evening Social “Women In Biology” When: Thursday, November 5th, 2015, 7:00 – 9:30 pm Where: The Ashburnham Alehouse, 128 Hunter St. E., Peterborough Special Guest Speaker: Dr. Cindy Chu, MNRF “Dam Climate Change – The Invasion Risk Associated with Warming Habitats, Stream Connectivity and Dams” Please join us for an evening of networking, socializing, Two-Minute Mentoring, Refreshments and Draw Prizes! Open to students, working biologists, wanna-be bios and XYs too!! Limited Seating – please RSVP either: sarah.hogg@ontario.ca ORann.rocchi@trentu.ca

READ MORE

CO2 Fish Barriers Re-blogged from the Fisheries Blog

This week the Fisheries Blog describes how carbon dioxide can be used as a barrier for fish movement. This work should be of particular interest to CARS members, as there is hope that this technology could be used to prevent Asian carp, like Silver and Bighead Carp from entering the Great Lakes via the Chicago Sanitary and Shipping Canal. Also, much of the ‘proof of concept’ work and followup studies are being completed by CARS members led by Cory Suski at the University of Illinois.

READ MORE

Karen Murchie

KAREN MURCHIE Chair of the Larkin Award – since 2010   Occupation: Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, College of The Bahamas, Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas Expertise: My research interests are focused around the biology and ecophysiology of marine and freshwater fishes at both the basic and applied level. In particular I’m interested in energy dynamics at various ecological levels, the spatial ecology of individuals, and stress physiology in response to human activities and environmental changes. My aim is to undertake a research and conservation approach that embraces the complexity of our environment and the human dimension to further understand fisheries. Credentials and Affiliations: Ph.D. in Biology, Carleton University, 2010; M.Sc. in Biology, […]

READ MORE

Pacific Salmon Commission – News Release

See PSC NewsRelease10 Sept 11 2015 (1) for details on the Fraser River Sockeye and Pink Salmon review assessment data. A key finding of this year’s assessment was that the pre-season forecast for sockeye returning to the Fraser was 6.8 million, but the actual return was ~2.1 million fish.  

READ MORE