Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society

CCFFR Special Session and Workshop Proposal Request

CCFFR-SCL meeting in Montreal, January 5-8th, 2017! The Hyatt Regency is booked. (http://montreal.hyatt.com/en/hotel/home.html) in downtown Montreal for the event and have secured an excellent hotel room rate of $129/night for double occupancy. To help build this meeting, the organizers are looking for special session and workshop proposals from you!  Please submit your special session or workshop title, along with a 250 word summary and the list of 5 potential speakers/contributors to Marco Rodriguez via email (marco.rodriguez@uqtr.ca) by June 15th 2016. The organizers especially encourage submissions from researchers in early stages of their career. Check out the CCFFR website (http://www1.uwindsor.ca/glier/ccffr/) soon for more details re. abstract submission deadlines, hotel booking link, planned activities and […]

READ MORE

2016 Peter A. Larkin Award Competition

Applications are now being accepted for the Peter A. Larkin Student Award for Excellence in Fisheries. The purpose of the award is to identify the top current MSc and PhD level students that are conducting fisheries research at a Canadian institution. The award is not restricted to students with Canadian citizenship. Please pay attention to the page limitations for each section. Note that Times New Roman, 12pt font is to be used, with page margins of 2 cm on all sides. Upon completion of the application, please convert the document to a pdf and name the file with your last name followed by an underscore and Larkin (i.e., Lastname_Larkin.pdf). Completed documents are […]

READ MORE

2016 Joint Meeting of the Centrarchid, Esocid, and Walleye Technical Committes

2016 Joint Meeting of the Centrarchid, Esocid, and Walleye Technical Committes – North Central Division of the American Fisheries Society Dates: July 25-28, 2016 Location: Ak-Sar-Ben Aquarium, Gretna, Nebraska The Tuesday afternoon workshop of the joint summer meeting will feature presentations by members of the Upper Colorado River Endangered Fish Recovery Program. Some of the presentations and speakers will be: (1.) The Upper Colorado Endangered Fish Recovery Program’s Nonnative Fish Management: Why Are We Here Today?  Kevin McAbee, Nonnative Fish Coordinator, Upper Colorado Endangered Fish Recovery Program (2.) A Summary of the Current Ecology and Management of Smallmouth Bass in the Upper Colorado River Basin Tildon Jones, Fisheries Supervisor, US Fish and […]

READ MORE

5th International Conference on Natural Channel Systems

READ MORE

Summary of CCFFR-SCL

By Michelle Lavery (MSc Candidate, UNB), Follow Michelle on Twitter @JMichelleLavery This year, CCFFR-SCL was held in St. John’s, NL. With Craig Purchase (MUN) at the helm, about 240 researchers participated in the two-day conference. We were treated to three great plenary talks; Julia Baum (UVic) gave the Stevenson lecture on marine conservation in Canada, Bill Taylor (U Waterloo) received the Rigler award from the SCL and spoke about phosphorus lake dynamics, and Matt Bogard (UQAM) received the Peters award for student achievement from the SCL for his work on methane production in lakes. Oh, and we were only allowed one muffin each at break times, as per Craig’s opening […]

READ MORE

AFS-OC – Second Notice and Call for Presenters

Second Notice and Call for Presenters Annual General MeetingFebruary 25th – February 27th,2016 Geneva Park, Orillia, ON Join us for our 2016 Annual Meeting andConference at the YMCA Geneva Park ConferenceCenter, on the shores of Lake Couchiching inOrillia “Celebrating Evidence-Based Decision Making in Ontario and Abroad” We are currently seeking oral and poster presenters for the 2016 AFS-OC Annual General Meeting and Conference. Interested presenters should provide their topics by February 3rd and abstracts must be submitted by February 10th. Poster presentations are also welcome. Presentationsare being solicited for all aquatic resource topics, and oncompleted studies, preliminary results, or case studies. Once topics are approved, abstracts should be submitted as email attachments in […]

READ MORE

Conference Announcement: 2016 Salish Sea Ecosystem Conference

We hope you can join your colleagues at the 2016 Salish Sea Ecosystem Conference in beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia April 13-15, 2016 at the Westin Bayshore, Vancouver B.C. Full conference details can be found here.

READ MORE

CCFFR – Jan 7–9, St. John’s, NFLD

  Conference webpage Major themes for the conference include: Environmental and anthropogenic impacts on aquatic ecosystems (Keith Clarke, keith.clarke@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Evolutionary and ecological genetics of aquatic species (Daniel Heath, dheath@uwindsor.ca and Ian Bradbury, ian.bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Ecosystem-based management (Mariano Koen-Alonso, mariano.koen-alonso@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Spatial ecology and conservation of aquatic ecosystems (Jon Carr, jcarr@asf.ca) Understanding recruitment dynamics of fishes and their consequences to stock productivity (Dominique Robert, dominique.robert@mi.mun.ca and Pierre Pepin, pierre.pepin@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Aquaculture and its impacts on aquatic ecosystems (Dounia Hamoutene, dounia.hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Habitat science and restoration of aquatic ecosystems (Robert Gregory, robert.gregory@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Ocean regime change and its impact on aquatic species (Sherrylynn Rowe, sherrylynn.rowe@mi.mun.ca) Evolutionary ecology of reproduction (Trevor Pitcher, tpitcher@uwindsor.ca and Craig Purchase, cfpurchase@mun.ca) Aquatic invasive species (Cynthia McKenzie, cynthia.mckenzie@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Species at risk (Roanne Collins, roanne.collins@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Science communication: opportunities and pitfalls (Steven Cooke, stevencooke@cunet.carleton.ca) General Contribution (Martha Robertson, martha.robertson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) Call for abstract here. Due […]

READ MORE

AFS 2015 – Portland, OR

The 145th Annual General Meeting of the AFS ran between August 16–20 in Portland, Oregon. There were  over 3,200 fisheries professionals present and countless (well not technically countless) oral and poster presentations.  The trade show was the biggest ever and even included the infamous salmon cannon (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9qA8c-E_oA). As is typical of AFS meetings, the beer, food, and conversation were pleasing. Canadians and CARS had plenty of things to celebrate. To start, there was a large western contingent of CARS members and plenty of talks on Pacific salmon! CARS members also cleaned-up on awards. Dr. Bruce Barton (retired, University of South Dakota) was awarded the Meritorious Service Award, Jake Brownscombe (PhD candidate, Carleton University) […]

READ MORE

International River Symposium

This year’s International River Symposium is in Brisbane, Australia, from September 21-24. See link here: http://riversymposium.com/ The theme for the 2015 International River symposium “Healthy Rivers – Healthy Economies” is a wonderful opportunity to engage with the multitude of businesses and organisations who contribute to and benefit from the wise management of rivers and their catchments. Water has risen high on the business agenda and a decline in freshwater quality and quantity was judged the greatest risk facing the globe at the 2015 World Economic Forum. The contribution that healthy rivers make to our economies and wellbeing is extraordinary, but often taken for granted. The 2015 Riversymposium will connect businesses who rely on rivers […]

READ MORE