2014 Larkin Awards Annouced


This year, a total of 6 MSc. candidates and 11 PhD. candidates applied for the Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries.  Eleven Canadian Institutions represented the pool of applicants: Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, University of Victoria, University of Western Ontario, University of Manitoba, University of Windsor, University of British Columbia, Carleton University, Simon Fraser University, Memorial University of Newfoundland, University of New Brunswick, and University of Waterloo.

Our judging panel consisted of Trevor Pitcher (University of Windsor) and Craig Purchase (Memorial University of Newfoundland).

The 2014 winner and runner-up at the MSc. level are:

  • Sean Godwin (SFU) & Maxime Veilleux (Carleton) – winner (tie)
  • Jacqueline Michelle Lavery (UNB) – runner-up


The 2014 winner and runner-up at the PhD. level are:

  • Vivian Nguyen (Carleton) – winner
  • Natalie Sopinka (UBC) – runner-up


The Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society congratulates our winners, runners-up, and all applicants in pursing excellence in fisheries research, and thanks our judges for their efforts.


Karen Murchie

Larkin Award Committee Chairperson


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *