Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries at a Canadian Institution – 2015 Results

This year, a total of 6 MSc. candidates and 8 PhD. candidates applied for the Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries.  Nine Canadian Institutions were represented by the pool of applicants: York University, University of New Brunswick, University of Alberta, Carleton University, University of British Columbia, University of Manitoba, University of Regina, University of Western Ontario, and University of Guelph.

Our judging panel consisted of Trevor Pitcher (University of Windsor) and Caleb Hasler (University of Illinois/CARS communication officer).

The 2015 winner and runner-up at the MSc. level are:

  • Bryan Michael Maitland (UofAlberta) & Taylor Ward (Carleton) – winner (tie)
  • Jacqueline Michelle Lavery (UNB) – runner-up

The 2015 winner and runner-up at the PhD. level are:

  • Karen Dunmall (University of Manitoba) – winner
  • Jacqueline M. Chapman (Carleton) – runner-up

The Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society congratulates our winners, runners-up, and all applicants in pursing excellence in fisheries research, and thanks our judges for their efforts.

Karen Murchie

Larkin Award Committee Chairperson