Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries at a Canadian Institution – 2016 Results

This year, a total of 5 MSc. candidates and 5 PhD. candidates applied for the Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries.  Five Canadian Institutions were represented by the pool of applicants:  Lakehead, Carleton University, Queens University, University of British Columbia, and University of Windsor.  Our judging panel consisted of Cindy Chu (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources) and Kenneth Jeffries (University of Manitoba).


The 2016 winner and runner-up at the MSc. level are:

  • Jill Brooks (Carleton University) and Petra Szekeres (Carleton University) – winner (tie)
  • Brittany Sullivan (Carleton University) – runner-up


The 2016 winners at the PhD. level are:

  • Jacqueline M. Chapman (Carleton University), Nathan Furey (University of British Columbia), and Sarah Lehnert (University of Windsor)  – winner (3-way tie)


The Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society congratulates our winners, runners-up, and all applicants in pursing excellence in fisheries research, and thanks our judges for their efforts.


Karen Murchie

Larkin Award Committee Chairperson