Larkin Award Announcement – 2018 Winners

Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries at a Canadian Institution – 2018 Results

This year, a total of 8 MSc students and 14 PhD candidates applied for the Peter A. Larkin Award for Excellence in Fisheries. Ten Canadian Institutions were represented by the pool of applicants: University of Victoria, University of British Columbia, University of Northern British Columbia, Lakehead University, University of Toronto, University of Windsor, University of Waterloo, Carleton University, University of Manitoba, University of Alberta. Our judging panel consisted of Cindy Chu (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry) and Karen Murchie (John G. Shedd Aquarium). The following graduate students are your winners and runners-up for 2018:

MSc level:
Anna Smith (University of British Columbia) – winner
Allison Hebert (University of British Columbia)– runner-up

PhD level:
Rowshyra Castaneda (University of Toronto Scarborough) – winner
Thaïs Bernos (University of Toronto) – runner-up (tie)
Karling Roberts (University of Alberta) – runner-up (tie)

We at the Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of the American Fisheries Society are proud of all applicants for your accomplishments to date, and encourage you to continue to pursue excellence in your field.

Karen Murchie, PhD
Larkin Committee Chair